While reopening the e-visa facilitation for international visitors, India has reduced the number of countries eligible for the e-visa facility to 156 from the earlier 170. The major omissions in the new list of countries by the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India, are the UK, China, Canada, Malaysia, Indonesia, Iran, Hong Kong and Saudi Arabia.

The MHA had reinstated the e-visa facility for international travellers coming for all activities other than e-Tourist Visa from this month. E-visa can be obtained for business visits, conference and exhibition, medical and medical attendance by people from the listed 156 countries.