The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) recently announced that international passenger flights will not start operation until June 30, however, the restriction will not apply to international all-cargo flights, and scheduled flights under the travel bubble arrangements. Ban on scheduled international flights has been in place since March last year.

Although international flights have been suspended since March last year, various international flights have been operating under bilateral air bubble agreements that India had signed with several nations to ensure unhindered movement of passengers.

As of now, India has formed air bubble arrangements with 27 countries, including the United Kingdom, the United States of America, United Arab Emirates, Bhutan, Kenya, Nepal, Maldives, Rwanda, Ukraine, Kuwait, Uzbekistan, Germany, Nigeria, France, among others.